Conversations With Jamie Allen

This coming Saturday, July 19th from 5-8PM we will be unveiling new & unseen residency works from the talented Jamie Allen! Jamie’s solo exhibit “Conversations with the Desert” will take place in our Poipu Gallery, in The Shops at Kukuiulua. Jamie has returned from a month-long residency at Santa Fe Art Institute in New Mexico. The Institute is a private institute that is housed on the Santa Fe College of Art and Design campus, although it is not affiliated with the college. Jamie is back on Oahu excited for the exhibit, and gracious enough to share with us her Santa Fe experience!

How would you describe your art?
There would be many words to describe the type of work I do, but to narrow it down, it’s a blend of abstraction and representational, a dance of some sort. The process is important to the creation of the piece.

What is your favorite part about working with mixed media?
I see each medium as having a specific voice or characteristic. I grew up strictly using watercolor, then at RISD (Rhode Island School of Design) I found I wanted to say more with my work. Expanding my vocabulary meant breaking free of just one medium.

What do you think about once you step into your studio in Oahu?
Recently I moved into a new apartment, where my entire living room is my studio. From the time I wake up to the time I go to bed, it’s staring back at me. It’s hard to pin point the first thing I think about, but I do know I notice the light in the room. The first thing I do is get clean water in my glass jars for my paints. With watercolor you must have clean water.

Congratulations on your Santa Fe residency! What does being invited to a renown residency mean to you?
Thank you! Since I was one of five for the month of March, I was extremely honored. I have always wanted to explore the desert, especially visit Santa Fe. Santa Fe is known for its art community. Having the opportunity to spend a good chunk of time in a place I have always wanted to visit and create art seemed to me – a dream had come true.

Tell me about your first week and last week in Santa Fe.
The first week was focused upon getting accumulated to the area – learning the bus system, walking areas, yoga studios, farmers markets and the other half getting to know the residents and the institute. I started collecting nature items to draw almost immediately. I didn’t want to waste any time and wanted to make the most of each day. The director, Nina, took us on a field trip that really opened my eyes to the landscape and culture of New Mexico. Two things I noticed right away were the color brown and the dryness. I found myself searching for color and water!
The last week was dedicated to finishing up my paintings, packing up my studio, and preparing for a lecture called SFAI140. This is an event with an attendance of about 200 people, held at the institute, where the residents and local artist and innovators give 140 second 7 slide overview of their work or project. After the lecture is over the audience is invited into the resident’s studios. I was fortunate I could participate in this event since they do not organize it each month.

Did you have a personal goal for your month in Santa Fe?
I thought hard about whether or not I was going to have any goals – and decided my goal was to not have an agenda. I was going to go to the residency with an open mind. I felt if I had a specific goal I would miss out on the experience. Well, I guess I take part of that back – a small goal was to read every day about art no matter what it was. The Institute has a large library collection, which was easy accessible and full stocked with interesting literature.

For this residency, the school provided your own studio. Do you feel that made a difference in your work?
I have always opted to have my own studio, even at RISD, the illustration department offers you space to work amongst other students in a cubby hole manner, and I decided to just work in my apartment. Studio space is a very sacred place and I like privacy and space to work. I understand that at a residency you do not always get that lucky to have this large gorgeous studio, but to be honest, I think I got lucky at both residencies. The first residency I went to at the Vermont Studio Center I had my own large studio, large windows, and a locked door. The studios were down the street from your living quarters. We had an open studio night were all the residents showcased their work. At Santa Fe, we were the first group to have individual studios made out of homosot walls, which were great for tacking up work. The difference was that it did not have a closed door and opened up to a large common area where all the other artists could work on large works in a communal setting. It was interesting to see the other artists working so closely. I prefer having my own room, enclosed space. I found it challenging since the spaces were sectioned off but still were open into a larger room. I could not really listen to music or NPR unless it was on headphones. Although for that month, I found the challenge to actually be part of the process. You are presented with a new space where you work with what you’re given. I also used the environment as a studio space where I would take out paper to draw on location and then bring it back to the studio indoors to paint.

Did you work with a certain medium more than others while there?
Since I was inspired by the architecture and the Mexican tiles, I found that my work was a little more linear. The wide-open landscape called for long panoramic paintings. To achieve some of the lines I found that I used painters blue tape. I also found that I was using colored artists pens to achieve some of the small details on the tiles. Perhaps it was the graphic quality that moved me to used pens a bit more.

What is the most important thing you cherish from your Santa Fe residency?
It’s hard to pin point what was the most important thing I took from my residency. If I had to say – the experiences and conversations within the residency. Not one particular thing, but the accomplishment I feel of have committed to going and making it important to my career.

“I was really attracted to Mexican tiles and studying Folk Art while I was in New Mexico. I feel that influence I took with me to Hawaii.”

Will you be attending another residency soon? And where?
I would like to go to a residency every 3-4 years. I think it’s really important to get out of your surroundings, experience other artists, challenge your practice, and devote that period of time to discovery. Where? That will be determined when the time comes, so many places to go and see!

What is the biggest change you’ve seen within your works this past year?
I am conscious of any drastic change, but I think the dedication and commitment I have in my studio has only made my work stronger. I am extremely content in my studio and feel that shines through my work.

The art market is very competitive in Hawaii, what inspires you to be ahead, fresh, and unique from the rest?
I am just true to myself. I am who I am, and that is reflected through my art. I try to stay a step removed from the art market, because if you bring all those voices into your studio, you will crowd it with everyone’s opinions and in turn they will speak louder than your own. What grounds me is the people I surround myself with and my yoga practice.

Your pieces are complex and captivating, yet not overwhelming, to the eye. When do you feel a piece is complete?
When I have nothing left to say. 🙂

Jamie, many sincere mahalos for taking time out of your day to speak with us! It is quite an honor we get the opportunity everyday to introduce a future art collector to your stunning original works.

We look forward to acquainting new and old friends of Kauai to Jamie Allen’s residency works this Saturday!

Much Aloha,
Halelea

20140713-193640-70600007.jpg

20140713-193640-70600384.jpg

20140713-193639-70599568.jpg

20140713-193639-70599811.jpg

20140713-193642-70602056.jpg

Leave a comment